I’m Still Here

Its been a good year since last I wrote.  It has been a good, full, exciting, stressful, fun, and *enter other awesome adjective here*  year!

Today I wanted to write about something that’s been on my mind lately…  It comes in the definition of a few things:
1-Take care of yourself  and 2-reduce stress

I am the type to always say “yes”!  Not only to others but to myself as well.  I am invincible. I can do that. I can be done with these 20 things in one week. Sure I’ll take on another project.

What does this do? It causes me to stress out and worry and hope everything goes well. Make sure everyone else is taken care of. Make sure everyone is happy.

I am here to tell you, again because I’m sure you already have heard it,  Take care of yourself first!  And its 1000% ok to say no!
I am all about service and helping people and doing what I can to help another in need.  However if I’m not capable of doing it well, I don’t want to help them in a half full capacity!

Over the past little bit of this “I’m invincible” state I was in.  I came to learn (again..this is one of those life long lessons) that in order to help them, I have to help me!

I was overwhelmed!  Mentally, I was stressed and worried all the time. Physically I felt like my “happy space” in my home wasn’t happy anymore and it was encroaching on my happy space it used to be!

So the past few months, actually about 6 to be exact. I have begun to take care of things that need to be taken care of.  Some of it mental has come first and some of it physical has come first. Like in January my mom came to visit and we got rid of about 16 bags of garbage, and about 8 big boxes of things that were donated, ALL out of my kitchen!  And my kitchen isn’t that big!   Its been a bit of a process but things are happening.

My Dr gave me a list of things I need to work on and on the list it said:  Reduce stress- Take care of things don’t take things on.
In my head it was like a light bulb- yes those are the words that I’ve been doing but didn’t have a way to put it! I’m taking care of stuff that needs it to make my sanity and mental state prime!  So that life can be “regularly stressful” instead of “constant stress and overwhelming-ness” 😉

I am making it ok to say “I’m going to sit on the porch with my puppy and do a long overdue blog post”
I’m taking the day as it comes and making sure at the end of the day I say “Check out what I did!”  instead of saying “well today sucked because I didn’t do this and this, and I still have this and this”

Go do something for you!

Just a short note today.. But I’ll be back sooner than next year!

D

 

Leave a Reply

