Strictly My Opinion….Its Your Choice to Keep Reading

As a side note real quick:  For some reason my wordpress has stopped sending me my weekly reminders to write a blog.  I will try to be more consistent as I am sure you miss reading all these profound insights into my soul! 🙂

Ok instead of putting it at the end I will put my disclaimer here right at the top where you wont miss it! I have two:  1-  This is not meant to cure or prevent any ailments or dis-eases you may have,  (although I will use the words cure and prevent! -consider yourself warned!)  and no. 2-  this is partially my opinions and partially information from other internet sights, books and personal interviews.  please note:  I will NOT be posting links or references (aka bibliography) because the information is out there and if you chose to you can find it! (I say that nicely 🙂 because everyone has a choice and everyone’s bodies are different)

Last item of business:  PLEASE feel free to contact me if you have any questions, comments or concerns 🙂 If I don’t know, I will find out with you!

Okie dokie! Here goes….

This is my life to a T.... please remember that not everyone can loose weight! I've tried a ton of things, and no matter what my body says... nope! So think before you judge someone.

I am 99% positive that you have all seen an Awareness Ribbon…right? (please say yes *wink).   So what exactly is awareness?  To me, when I see people with a ribbon or a T-shirt with a ribbon on it, or a saying or a funny thing…etc my thoughts are “Hey that’s real”!   It brings my mind to be aware of that “problem”.  And I’ll tell you what-  I bet its very real to them!  Whether its themselves or a loved one, they are wearing it for a reason! A very special specific reason.

If you don’t know, September is PCOS awareness month.  Also if you didn’t know… I have PCOS.  I am not one to share a lot of personal information  but my goal and dream and wishes and prayers, are to be able to help other girls and women through the physical, emotional, hormonal roller coaster of this lovely PCOS, so I am opening up and talking.   I am facing it,  and I am fighting it!  – I went into a depression a while ago and I was in such denial!  I kept telling myself I was NOT depressed!  Guess what!  Until I faced it, I couldn’t fight it!   – I am not turning my back,  I am facing and fighting PCOS.  I will win!  There is NO question.

So the back story is that I have had irregular menstrual cycles, difficulties losing weight, hypoglycemia, male pattern hair growth, etcetera… there are many lists of possible symptoms, and I have a bunch of them. 🙂    I have a couple of sisters with pcos and so assumed that I had it too.  To be completely honest you could say I was in denial.  “I’m fine, I have no problems”   So fast forward a few years, married 4+ years and SO very badly wanting children…I decided, we (hubby and I) decided that –making a long story short– we were going to see a Doctor.

We started seeing a Naturopathic Dr., I had a novels worth of blood tests (literally the tech who took my blood said “looks like we’ve got a novel here”!),  and following the results of the blood tests, I had an ultra sound.  “officially” diagnosing me with Poly Cyctic Ovarian Syndrome.      ……so what now?  Well the denial (if you will)  is gone, I am out to reverse and …here it is, are you ready? …….CURE  this problem!!!!

“Science” and multiple articles I have read all say they don’t know what causes it and that there is no cure and that it is genetic…..  Well guess what?  I have this handy dandy computer with a handy dandy website called Google, and I have read plenty of articles that told me straight up the cause of pcos.  They have told me that it is not genetic.   Two of the root causes of pcos are Metabolic Syndrome and Hyperinsulinism.  Other names include Insulin resistance and syndrome X.   The root causes of those are…drum roll please….  Bad eating/dieting habits, and genetic predisposition (you’re genetically predisposed…that does NOT mean that PCOS is in your DNA…)  My Theory: I was NOT born with PCOS.  I have, and have had some bad habits. I am working on those, and I am determined to overcome them!   I am curable!  I will not pass these bad habits down to my children!

PCOS is an endocrine issue.  thyroid, blood sugar, pancreas, insulin, pituitary etc…  I have chosen not to do the western medicine approach.  My opinion is with the chemicals and synthetic hormones and endocrine disruptors in the pills and prescriptions it would just wreak havoc on my body, my endocrine system and my hormones.

This is what I am doing health wise to reverse, manage and cure this pcos:  Note that some of these are still a work in progress

Oh a definition of diet real quick is:  the foods you habitually eat…. so I am changing my habits to foods that will benefit and heal rather than cause problems.

I quit sugar over a year ago (after one year I have had it again, here and there, but I am not allowing myself back in that bad habit of white refined processed sugar (aka poison! 🙂 ).  I use honey and coconut sugar when I sweeten things.

I am upping my water intake… if our bodies our 70% (or whatever the stats are) then I am not drinking enough water!

I am walking… and trying my darndest to get to it every day! (I like to go at least 1/2 hour) Walking is one of the best things for you!  I like to add yoga and or pilates too! …still learning the yoga thing… love Pilates though! oh and I have a mini tramp that I use occasionally…pretty sure I should do that daily!….like I said “work in progress”…

I am taking high doses of Calcium and Vitamin D.  Also making sure I am getting a good amount of other vitamins and minerals. I am doing that through food and supplements.

I am getting good fats in my diet (coconut oil, avocado oil). I also take a good oil supplement

I am getting 8+ hours of good sleep a night!  (ok this one is SO a work in progress!)  Sleep is so important though and so are the 8+ hours!   Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy wealthy and wise!  I will work on it!

I am doing castor oil packs to dissolve the cysts.  Also other herbs and essential oils also.

Last but not least…probably most important is keeping faith, keeping hope, keeping strong and keeping positive!  Being positive is sometimes what helps me through my day!   Stay up! And stay grateful!  I am a firm believer in “Everything happens for a reason”  being grateful for the not so good in your life will teach you lessons you didn’t know you needed to learn!  Finding joy in the little things will keep your attitude positive and help you look for those things to be grateful for!

I am grateful to be facing this, fighting it and sharing it! I hope that if you’re still reading this you were blessed in some way.  I have a long way to go but I have people who strengthen me and love me along the journey.  I can see where I am headed and I will get there!

Thank you for reading my teal PCOS awareness ribbon 🙂  If all I do is make you aware that this is real than that’s ok.  If I sparked any questions, please ask.

I liked this one…  I am interrupted only for a moment!  🙂

Girl Interrupted 2 PCOS Print

One thought on “Strictly My Opinion….Its Your Choice to Keep Reading

  1. Pingback: Copy Cat | Healthy Balanced Woman

Leave a Reply

