One Year Today

Last year I was really trying to do better with my eating habits.  You know?  More veggies, less bread, less sugar?  You get the idea. 

Well….I felt like I was doing ok…except with the sugar!  I would stop eating sugar…then I had a bad day and wanted ice cream.  or I was in at my moms and we had a family party and we made Ice cream sundaes.  or or  or or!!    there was always an excuse!!

well I decided that couldn’t happen anymore!  so I committed to no sugar for 1 year!  I started that year on June 15th 2013.  It was easy and hard at the same time.   Once I ordered something from a fast food place….oh yah I cant eat this!  so hubby got two meals 🙂  and I went and ordered something else with no sugar.  it got easier as the time went on. And it became a habit to watch closely what I was doing.

I will clarify that I wasn’t extremely strict with things that had sugar in the ingredients, like bbq sauce spaghetti sauce etc…  my goal was to get out of the habit of the things I mentioned before, and all the excuses to have a dessert!   I still ate things like honey and unrefined sugars occasionally. 

So a year has gone by and what has happened?    the number one thing I noticed, and my favorite thing, and the reason I wont be going back to eating white refined sugar?  Is that I don’t have the mood swings like I used to!  I used to be horrible!!  now if something happens like that its not near as bad as it was before and its not near as long!  I am able to “get over it”  super fast!!

I also had fun finding new favorite things as far as “desserts”  like peaches and cream, (or strawberries),  I also had fun finding recipes like sugar and flour free chocolate cake! or my moms famous poor mans cookies with honey instead of sugar, I even made things like ice cream, and candies!  (as a chef its been  fun to create all these things, and experiment with recipes!)

I may eat sugar again… but I will NOT let it become a habit again! 

I recommend it to anyone!!  if you try it let me know how you like it!

 

One thought on “One Year Today

Leave a Reply

