Why I Want to be a Midwife

When I was 7 1/2 years old.  I woke up one morning to a very distinct scent (and one of my favorites) of Hexol.  I had a new baby neice!

When I was 8 years old.  My sister drank castor oil straight from the bottle….a little while later I had a new baby neice!

A few months later I had turned nine.  I woke up to the sound of familiar womens voices, a hallway full of coats, boots and purses,  and… you guessed it!  another baby neice was born!

A few years later, I was 12, I was gone but I new a baby was on the way soon!  when I walked in the house… I had a baby nephew this time!

6 months later.  I was helping my mom sterilize blankets and clothes and boil water…hexol scent floating around… I was listening at the door with my other sisters… then we were invited in… I was a little scared…but I watched another neice enter the world!  this neice was the first and only time I have seen a baby be born.(in real life)  It was unforgettable!

At the time of these births I had no idea i wanted to be a midwive.  I do think they helped the decision once I thought back on them though 🙂   It was only about 7 months ago that I made the decision.

I don’t know if I have already said this in another post, but I have NEVER had regular menstrual cycles!  I realize now that I probably should have looked into doing something about it then…  but I have no regrets. I firmly believe in “seasons of life”, “timing”,  “everything happens for a reason”  all of those types of sayings.  I was not my season, or time, to learn the things I have in the past four years!    so yah…. never been “normal”.  Marriage comes around and I want babies… so I have spend the last four years.  learning, praying, studying, researching, asking, watching  etc etc … about womens health. Specifically reproductive and endocrine systems.  One day(in September of 2013) I received an email from one of my best friends, about a conference thing that had classes on these particular subjects. and it also had classes and information about midwifery.  That was the “lightbulb” I guess you could say.  I wasn’t able to attend the conference. I talked to my husband, told him what I wanted to do. And I even wrote down my goals and desires.  This is what I wrote: 

My main goal is to be a natural and holistic “health care provider” (I don’t really know what the official title would be) for women.  Using whole foods, herbs, and natural sources (essential oils, tinctures etc). Also “alternative” healing such as chakra healing and other emotional clearing processes (a huge part of what I have learned is the emotional link to physical problems).  I want to be able to come to me with any problem, concern or issue they may have.  PCOS, fibroids, fibromyalgia, endometriosis, etc.  I want to be trained in areas that may help these women: massage, reflexology, acupressure, etc. and also a better knowledge of the herbs, salves, tinctures, essential oils.  I also want to be trained in things regarding pregnancy:  hypnobabies, doula, pregnancy nutrition and health, and mainly midwifery. and also postpartum care for mothers and babies. I feel like because of the things I have learned about myself through my own women’s health journey I can help and serve other women.

I do want to give a big disclaimer here and say this: I want to be qualified and trusted in all these areas. I don’t want nor expect it to be something like “oh I have this problem so this will help you!”  or “you need this because it helped me” . to me that is wrong 🙂

I have always felt like I would have my babies at home.  I was born a woman.  Woman have a great power and strength when it comes to having babies!  I have heard stories of old indian and eskimo women just stopping and having their babies and then get on with their lives!  (those were word of mouth stories so you don’t have to trust me on that).  In my studies of anatomy and women…its just a beautiful thing. I just cannot even say how amazing I think it is!

I feel like I have jumped around in this post,  lets try finishing it up this way:

I want to be a midwife so I can serve, encourage, bless and help women.  I want to be a midwife because I want to give women the choices they may not know they have.  I want to be a midwife because I am passionate about health, motherhood, babies and womens choices, and the power (physical, emotional, spiritual) of women!!  I want to be a midwive because if I am helping a women with fertility issues and getting pregnant I would love to have the honor if she chose me to continue the journey to the birth of her baby.  I want to be the kind of midwife I want for myself.  my clients/patients? they will be my friend…forever!   I suppose if you don’t want that type of relationship than don’t choose me as your midwife.  here is my history for those statements.  I HATE being a number!  get in and get done.. and no real interest in the person or problem they have.  I connect with people and talk and laugh and cry with people!  I want a friend!  I will be a friend!  I will love you and those babies till forever!  I wont be a number counter, (is that even a thing?)  you get the idea right?

I want to be a midwife because nothing is more special and beautiful and perfect than birth and a bond of mother and child!

 

Leave a Reply

