Someone FINALLY told me WHY!

I will be the first to admit that I thought the “gluten free” thing was a fad, or a fake thing! I couldn’t understand why if we had been eating wheat for hundreds of years why all of the sudden it was the devil! I thought it was dumb, and just kind of disregarded it. Time went by and I learned some things and I still was hesitant but it made me feel better that “wheat” or “gluten” wasn’t the actual problem but it was the Genetic modifications that were bad the GMO’s (another hot topic!) So I was like “ok that makes sense”! Because hundreds of years ago there was no such thing as GMO and so it was not as harmful! Oh I forgot to mention I would hear things like “You have to go off gluten if you want to get pregnant” or “your not getting pregnant because of gluten”… I don’t mind peoples advice and I know they want to see me have children. (and I am so grateful for the love and support). I had gone off of gluten (not 100% strict but 99%, I wouldn’t check in things like soups and stuff where gluten and flours are hiding, but I eliminated Most gluten), for a few months and I actually noticed a difference in things. I also had heard and seen lots of good things and successes with it… so, I don’t know why I stopped… just stubborn I guess!
SO… last week I had a Live Blood Analysis, from a friend of mine. The blood analysis is so cool! Its amazing what you can tell by a drop of blood! So while looking at my blood she asks if I had made any diet changes recently. I told her that I had not eaten sugar since June, I had been trying to go off gluten but I wasn’t completely, and I told her I was trying to just be healthier over all, you know… get my greens and veggies etc…and she strongly suggested to go all the way gluten free! — I told my mom that and she says “I wont say ‘I told you so'” (hehehehe) she was one of the ones suggesting it. — πŸ™‚ My friend went on to explain what celiac disease is! this is what I understand, correct me if I am wrong πŸ™‚
In your intestine there are little hairs…what you all know from High School Biology is cilia! πŸ™‚ the cilia take the broken down food and absorb into your body the nutrients from your food. She then explained that gluten isn’t the only culprit! It is the biggest culprit because of GMO’s (^ see I was right!) But nightshade veggies and other grains can also cause a problem. The gluten or other things go and stick to the cilia and block it from absorbing nutrients, and it absorbs whole particles of food…then your body says “NO that’s not right!” and you get the allergic reaction!
She also went on about my fertility issues and the link with that! Stresses whether physical (the gluten “allergy”) or emotional, put your body into fight or flight mode. Your adrenals are what controls that. when your body is in fight or flight trying to keep you alive, it is using all your progesterone and turning it into cortisol…therefore your hormones are way out of wack! the more you try to give your body progesterone the more your adrenals use it to convert to cortisol and not the fertility areas where its being needed… vicious cycle! So her advice to me was to go off gluten completely. and to not stress! don’t put your body into fight or flight! If your tired (physically or emotionally) go lay down! listen to your body and don’t over work your adrenals!
I am so incredibly happy to finally know and understand WHY Gluten was so “bad”! I will be going off of ALL grain for about a month, and then I will introduce them one at a time and see how I react and what my digestive system says yes to and what it says no to! I will also be keeping a “journal” on what I eat and how it makes me feel, and what it does to me.
If you are interested here are a few sites that I have found helpful for the adrenal health topic. http://www.drlam.com/index.php and http://www.womentowomen.com/
wish me luck on my new adventure and journey to new and better things for my health and for generations to come!

Leave a Reply

