Sisters Are Like Stars

200173_103792889706383_1066448_n

Sisters are like stars, you cant always see them, but you know they are there! 

For one of my birthdays 9 or 10 years ago, my sister Teresa gave me a paper with that quote printed on it and some fun bright colored stars and shooting stars.  I didn’t know then how much that paper would mean to me in 10 years!  it is now framed hanging in my hallway.  Some day I also want that quote that says because we have part of our family in heaven we have part of heaven in our home!  That is where Teresa is… in heaven, looking after me, my other sisters, my brothers, her children, and her family!

I used to hear “old folks” say things like “I remember exactly what I was doing and where I was when…(insert some major world event)”  for some reason I just didn’t understand how and why they would remember that!  Well then I had major things happen to me! (or in my life)  Like my sister dying.  (my dad and grandma in the two consecutive years).   And guess what?  I can replay that day like it was yesterday!!  I realize now what those “old folks” went through and how and why they remembered exactly what happened and where they were! 

Teresa left this world physically 8 years ago.  She is still here!  She is with her oldest daughter as she experiences life as a wife and mother!  She is holding her second daughters hand as she learns what road to walk down and while she goes through a time in life that is hard for everyone!  She is with her son as he grows up and becomes a man, a strength, to his family!  And she is holding her youngest daughter, although she remembers very little of her mom, as she grows up and becomes a young woman!

And she was with me today pushing me to step outside my comfort zone!  she is there when I need someone to talk to, and there when I need some strength, and someone to lean on!

I have no doubt that she is and will always be around helping and serving us where ever we need it! 

Teresa, 

I miss you so much!  sometimes I wonder how life has gone on with out you! then I realize it hasn’t! you’re still here!  I can still tell you all about my hopes and dreams and wishes!  and you still believe in me like you have my entire life!!  I love you!!!!

Deborah

 

 

One thought on “Sisters Are Like Stars

  1. Thanks for the wonderful picture of Teresa. I always did love her smile. . .and I’ve told her so too. I miss her and treasure her friendship.

Leave a Reply

